…………….deals with everything feminine, make up and beauty being an integral part

I love bright, bold colors and the want for this, landed me upon this steal from MAC. I got this from shoppers stop, Koramangala , Bangalore. The SA there was very much helpful so that I take the correct decision. I stepped into the store with a goal to buy a red lipstick and ended up trying quite a few colors. After all the trial and hits over, voila the color “Ruby Woo” won in spite of its drawbacks. Note: All the pics are taken in broad daylight.

About the color Ruby Woo, its a beautiful warm toned red and is universally flattering. A lovely red and it brightens my complexion as though it has been lit up, ami sotti bolchi!! I loved it so much on me that overlooking its loopholes, went ahead and bought this one. It belongs to the retro matte(RM) collection from Mac.

The ouch factor with it is that its quite drying. One has to prepare their lips before applying this, else you might end up with shriveled looking lips. People with dry lips have to exfoliate and moisturise their lips before applying this. My lips are not dry and hardly crack, so it was not that difficult for me. I usually apply this after applying some lip balm and then lining my lips with a nude pencil. This way the color doesn’t bleed and my lips do not feel dry.  It stays on put up for long, even after eating and drinking , you have some color left on your lips. Frequent touch ups are not needed but I have a warning!! yes, one needs to be very careful while applying this,  else the color forms a thick layer and bleeds. I devised a technique  to address this, which is to prepare the lips, apply a light lip base then blot it with a tissue paper and apply two coats of lipstick. Also, if the base is too thick, the red color mixes with it and forms a new color. That is why, i blot out the base nicely and then apply two coats, any more than that , it forms a thick layer which later bleeds and looks very cakey.

Summary: Universally flattering shade, a red worth giving a try solely for its color, also if you can compromise with the dryness factor.

Price: Rs. 990

Here is my first lip swatch :).

IMG_1720

This is me with Ruby woo 🙂

Product Score: 4/5

Comments on: "MAC Ruby Woo lipstick review and swatches" (21)

  1. hey Di…..
    here i am on your page ! 🙂
    gonna buy this shade soon.
    thanks

  2. Ive been lusting after Ms Woo for so long but its never available in the Kolkata MAC store..Sighhhhh

  3. your lips looks pretty Tanmayee .. perfect color for you ..:) awesome

  4. Lovely red..already on my shopping list..

  5. Beautiful colour! Really is very retro. 🙂

  6. shruthi venkatesh said:

    Nice color and awesome lip swatch!

  7. this is looking sooooooooooooooooooo beautiful on you tanmayeeee 😀 😀 WOW and the you have such a cute smile honey 😀

  8. budgetbelleza said:

    Lovely Red..Suits you well Tanmayee!

  9. hey lovely lippie 🙂 a perfect Red for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

